72nd Emmy Awards Nominees and Winners in 2020 - CINEPLES

72nd Emmy Awards Nominees and Winners in 2020

Reading Time: 5 minutes

The 72nd annual Primetime Emmy Awards took place on Sunday night.

Here’s a rundown of the night’s major winners and other nominees:

Outstanding drama series 2020

    • Better Call Saul
    • The Crown
    • The Handmaid’s Tale
    • Killing Eve
    • The Mandalorian
    • Ozark
    • Stranger Things
    • WINNER: Succession
series: succession

Outstanding comedy series 2020

  • Curb Your Enthusiasm
  • Dead to Me
  • The Good Place
  • Insecure
  • The Kominsky Method
  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • WINNER: Schitt’s Creek
  • What We Do in the Shadows
Schitt’s Creek

Outstanding limited series 2020

  • Little Fires Everywhere
  • Mrs. America
  • Unbelievable
  • Unorthodox
  • WINNER: Watchmen

Outstanding variety talk series 2020

  • Daily Show with Trevor Noah
  • Full Frontal with Samantha Bee
  • Jimmy Kimmel Live
  • WINNER: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
  • Late Show with Stephen Colbert
last week tonight with john Oliver

Lead actor in a comedy series 2020

  • Anthony Anderson, Black-ish
  • Don Cheadle, Black Monday
  • Ted Danson, The Good Place
  • Michael Douglas, The Kominsky Method
  • WINNER: Eugene Levy (Schitt’s Creek)
  • Ramy Youssef, Ramy
Eugene Levy

Lead actress in a comedy series 2020

  • Christina Applegate, Dead to Me
  • Rachel Brosnahan, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Linda Cardellini, Dead to Me
  • WINNER: Catherine O’Hara (Schitt’s Creek)
  • Issa Rae, Insecure
  • Tracee Ellis Ross, Black-ish
Catherine O’Hara

Supporting actor in a comedy series 2020

  • Andre Braugher, Brooklyn Nine-Nine
  • William Jackson Harper, The Good Place
  • Alan Arkin, The Kominsky Method
  • Sterling K. Brown, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Tony Shalhoub, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Mahershala Ali, Ramy
  • Kenan Thompson, Saturday Night Live
  • WINNER: Dan Levy (Schitt’s Creek)
daniel levy

Supporting actress in a comedy series 2020

  • Betty Gilpin, GLOW
  • D’Arcy Carden, The Good Place
  • Yvonne Orji, Insecure
  • Alex Borstein, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Marin Hinkle, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Kate McKinnon, Saturday Night Live
  • Cecily Strong, Saturday Night Live
  • WINNER: Annie Murphy (Schitt’s Creek)
Annie Murphy

Lead actor in a drama series 2020

  • Jason Bateman, Ozark
  • Sterling K. Brown, This Is Us
  • Steve Carell, The Morning Show
  • Brian Cox, Succession
  • Billy Porter, Pose
  • WINNER: Jeremy Strong (Succession)
Jeremy strong

Lead actress in a drama series 2020

  • Jennifer Aniston, The Morning Show
  • Olivia Colman, The Crown
  • Jodie Comer, Killing Eve
  • Laura Linney, Ozark
  • Sandra Oh, Killing Eve
  • WINNER: Zendaya (Euphoria)

Supporting actor in a drama series 2020

  • Giancarlo Esposito, Better Call Saul
  • Bradley Whitford, The Handmaid’s Tale
  • WINNER: Billy Crudup (The Morning Show)
  • Mark Duplass, The Morning Show
  • Nicholas Braun, Succession
  • Kieran Culkin, Succession
  • Matthew Macfadyen, Succession
  • Jeffrey Wright, Westworld
Billy Crudup

Supporting actress in a drama series 2020

Laura Dern, Big Little Lies
Meryl Streep, Big Little Lies
Helena Bonham Carter, The Crown
Samira Wiley, The Handmaid’s Tale
Fiona Shaw, Killing Eve
WINNER: Julia Garner (Ozark)
Sarah Snook, Succession
Thandie Newton, Westworld

Julia Garner

Lead actor in a limited series or movie 2020

  • Jeremy Irons, Watchmen
  • Hugh Jackman, Bad Education
  • Paul Mescal, Normal People
  • Jeremy Pope, Hollywood
  • WINNER: Mark Ruffalo (I Know This Much Is True)
Mark Ruffalo

Lead actress in a limited series or movie 2020

  • Cate Blanchett, Mrs. America
  • Shira Haas, Unorthodox
  • WINNER: Regina King (Watchmen)
  • Octavia Spencer, Self Made
  • Kerry Washington, Little Fires Everywhere
Regina King

Supporting actor in a limited series or movie 2020

  • Dylan McDermott, Hollywood
  • Jim Parsons, Hollywood
  • Tituss Burgess, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. the Reverend
  • WINNER: Yahya Abdul-Mateen II (Watchmen)
  • Jovan Adepo, Watchmen
  • Louis Gossett Jr, Watchmen
Yahya Abdul-Mateen II

Supporting actress in a limited series or movie 2020

  • Holland Taylor, Hollywood
  • WINNER: Uzo Aduba (Mrs. America)
  • Margo Martindale, Mrs. America
  • Tracey Ullman, Mrs. America
  • Toni Collette, Unbelievable
  • Jean Smart, Watchmen
Uzo Aduba

Outstanding reality competition series 2020

  • The Masked Singer
  • Nailed It
  • WINNER: RuPaul’s Drag Race
  • Top Chef
  • The Voice
RuPaul’s Drag Race

Outstanding variety sketch series 2020

  • A Black Lady Sketch Show
  • Drunk History
  • WINNER: Saturday Night Live

Outstanding television movie 2020

  • American Son
  • WINNER: Bad Education
  • Dolly Parton’s Heartstrings: These Old Bones
  • El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie
  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. The Reverend

Writing for a comedy series 2020

  • WINNER: Daniel Levy (Schitt’s Creek)
  • David West Read, Schitt’s Creek
  • Michael Schur, The Good Place
  • Tony McNamara, The Great
  • Sam Johnson and Chris Marcil, What We Do In The Shadows
  • Paul Simms, What We Do In The Shadows
  • Stefani Robinson, What We Do In The Shadows

Writing for a drama series 2020

  • Thomas Schnauz, Better Call Saul
  • Thomas Schnauz,
  • Gordon Smith, Better Call Saul
  • Peter Morgan, The Crown
  • Chris Mundy, Ozark
  • John Shiban, Ozark
  • Miki Johnso, Ozark
  • WINNING: Jesse Armstrong (Succession)


  • Jesse Armstrong

    Writing for a limited series, movie, or drama 2020

  • Tanya Barfield, Mrs. America
  • Sally Rooney and Alice Birch, Normal People
  • Susannah Grant, Ayelet Waldman, and Michael Chabon, Unbelievable
  • Anna Winger, Unorthodox
  • WINNER: Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson (Watchmen)
Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson

Director for a comedy series 2020

  • Matt Shakman, The Great
  • Amy Sherman-Palladino, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Daniel Palladino, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Gail Mancuso, Modern Family • Finale Part 2
  • Ramy Youssef, Ramy
  • WINNER: Andrew Cividino and Daniel Levy (Schitt’s Creek)
  • James Burrows, Will & Grace

Directing for a drama series in 2020

  • Benjamin Caron, The Crown
  • Jessica Hobbs, The Crown
  • Lesli Linka Glatter, Homeland
  • Mimi Leder, The Morning Show Mimi Leder,
  • Alik Sakharov, Ozark
  • Ben Semanoff, Ozark
  • WINNER: Andrij Parekh (Succession)
  • Mark Mylod, Succession
Andrij Parekh

Directing for a limited series 2020

  • Lynn Shelton, Little Fires Everywhere
  • Lenny Abrahamson, Normal People
  • WINNER: Maria Schrader (Unorthodox)
  • Nicole Kassell, Watchmen
  • Steph Green, Watchmen
  • Stephen Williams, Watchmen
Maria Schrader
Editor Team
Back To Top
error: Content is protected !!